Council Members

Stephen H. DonCarlos

District 1
Mercedes Renteria III
Contact Form | Bio

District 2
Chris Presley
Contact Form | Bio

District 3
Brandon Capetillo
Contact Form | Bio

District 4
Terry Sain
Contact Form | Bio

District 5
Robert C. Hoskins
Contact Form | Bio

District 6
David McCartney
Contact Form | Bio

Text size: - +

The City Council is the legislative and policy-making body of the City. They also provide community leadership, develop policies and guide the City in delivering services and achieving community goals, while encouraging awareness and involvement. Pursuant to its provisions and subject only to the limitations imposed by the state constitution and by city charter, all powers of the city are vested in the elective council, which enacts local legislation, adopts budgets, determines policies, and appoints the city manager.


Council District Map
Click image 

City Council is comprised of six elected officials, one from each respective district, and one mayoral position elected At-large. The council members from single member district numbers 1, 2, and 3 are elected for a term of three years. At the regular municipal election, the council members from single member district numbers 4, 5 and 6 shall be elected for a term of three years. The mayor shall be elected for a term of three years. To make the transition from two-year terms to three-year terms, it is necessary for the mayor to hold over in office for one year after the expiration of his/her two-year term in 2008. If a vacancy occurs in a holdover position, it shall be filled in an election as other vacancies are filled.


Baytown Weather

Overcast, mist
  • Overcast, mist
  • Temperature: 64.4 °F
  • Wind: NE (50°), 6.9 mph
  • Rel. Humidity: 88 %
  • Visibility: 4 mi
  • Sunrise: 6:47am -0600
  • Sunset: 6:20pm -0600
Last updated March 2, 2015 - 3:50pm

Get the forecast

Follow Us