Public library service in Baytown has a long, rich history. The first county library in the state of Texas was founded in 1925 through the building constructed with private donations provided by Ross S. Sterling, then President of Humble Oil and Refining Company. This Goose Creek Library served residents until 1963.
Municipally funded public library service commenced with the dedication of Sterling Municipal Library (Mary Elizabeth Wilbanks Ave) in 1963. The name honors Ross Sterling for his vision and commitment to the printed word.
Two subsequent bond programs, in 1975 and 1995, expanded the library to its current 50,500 square feet. The collection totals nearly 300,000 items. Annual circulation exceeds half a million items. An array of traditional and automated services are available to borrowers free of charge. There is no residency requirements for a borrower's card. The Library is a member of Texshare.
Visit the Sterling Municipal Library's official site here.