COVID 19, or the Coronavirus

The City of Baytown facilities and offices are open for business. Due to COVID-19 some departments may still be operating in a modified fashion. Please contact the department you plan to conduct business with directly if you have specific questions as to modification to services or location.

We continue to follow CDC guidelines for the safety of our employees and citizens and will keep you updated via social media and other communication channels

For additional information visit



 The City Council is the City of Baytown's legislative and policy-making body. The 7- member Council provides community leadership, develops policies and guides the City in delivering services and achieving community goals, while encouraging awareness and involvement. Pursuant to its provisions and subject only to the limitations imposed by the state constitution and by city charter, all powers of the city are vested in the elective council, which enacts local legislation, adopts budgets, determines policies, and appoints the city manager.

The Baytown City Council is comprised of six elected Council members, one from each respective district, and one Mayoral position elected "at-large." Council Members and the Mayor are each elected to a term of three years, with elections staggered so that no more than three members are up for election in a particular year.

Baytown City Council meetings are typically held the second and fourth Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. Meetings, which are open to the public, are held in the City Council Chambers, located in City Hall, 2401 Market St. Meetings are streamed live online and broadcast on Comcast Channel 16. They are also available on demand and rebroadcast daily.